Welcome our Fall/Winter 2012 intern!


   Meet Reese Horel.  Reese is the newest addition to our team serving as the Fall/Winter 2012 intern. We’re happy to have her and excited to see what she’ll accomplish this semester!

Name: Reese Horel

Age: 21

University: Ball State University

Hometown: Chicago, Ill.

What’s your favorite part of public relations?

The best part of public relations is meeting and working with different types of clients. In PR you can work at a non-profit, a firm, a corporation, in entertainment; the possibilities are endless. Your interests can be directly related to the work that you decide to do, which makes becoming an adult a lot less scary.

What are you most looking forward to during your internship with Shank Public Relations Counselors?

Everything! To name one specific thing would be impossible. I’ve only been here a week, but already I have had the chance to travel a little bit and even sit in on a client meeting. Everyday I’m learning so much from David and Marilyn and I can’t wait to see what the rest of the semester brings.

One thing that I have learned so far during my internship is that I have the opportunity to dabble into all aspects of PR. From social media to special events to writing news stories, I’m allowed the opportunity to perfect all my skills, and for that I am extremely thankful.

What advice do you have for students looking for PR internships?

Research the company!  When applying for an internship with Shank Public Relations Counselors, I read their entire website to make I was an expert on the company before my interview.  I also read blog posts and tips on how to score an internship so that I knew what the firm found acceptable or unacceptable.

Every company is different and you don’t want to make the mistake of sending a generic cover letter and resume to each one.  Take the time to find out what’s important to each organization, firm, or company you apply for. It may sound like a lot of work to do for each internship that you apply for, but trust me, researching pays off.

Leave a Reply

